This week I had a Baddabing! moment and I put two & two together. The following entry conveys my current thoughts on running a business and how it applies to my life as an athlete.

When I was younger, my swim coach Ed Nessel trained me based on a statement that I still follow 10 years later; ‘Focus on technique before you focus on speed.’ It helped me improve my swimming by a long shot- before him I was swimming in zig-zags down the lane. By the end of my first year with him I was awarded ‘Most Improved’ on the team.

While on one of my runs this week, I remembered Ed’s words and realized that I have been following his advice. Growing up a swimmer, I never thought I could be a runner. I would get horrible shin splints after running one mile, and I just thought it wasn’t my thing. However, after I graduated college I did not have access to a pool but still wanted to exercise. I decided to start out small and run slowly, one mile at a time. It was difficult, I wouldn’t feel like putting forth the effort. I’d say to myself, “Lola, are you really too lazy to go outside and run for 10 minutes?” It was a good motivator; self-talking puts everything into perspective.

It is now two years later, and I am training for a marathon. I can run for over 10 miles/two hours straight, and feel a lot more comfortable than I used to. It is really nice to work on something and see improvement.

I have started to take this mentality of ‘going slow to learn technique, then work to go faster’ and translating it to my mission at Stromboli. On one hand I am eager to see results and progress the business as fast as possible, but on the other I am very conscious and aware of the fact that I need to continue to educate myself and reflect on my actions.

Anyway, Ed’s advice still resonates with me not only when it comes to athletics, but with other areas of my life as well and thought it would be useful to pass along.

