Alas, I am ready to do some more work on my internal being. Yes I did just write that sentence. For the past few weeks I have been reflecting a lot on my actions and trying to figure out why I get stressed out and what causes me to become overwhelmed. One of the underlying factors has been that I am a perfectionist and I bite off more than I can chew. I don’t want to let people down and I try to do too much at once. There are several things I’m signing myself up to do in order to become less overwhelmed.

First, I have been asking my close friends to help keep me in line. If I try to overcommit myself they will be there to say, “Girl, you betta check yo self.” Second, I geeked out and created an excel spreadsheet of my short-term and long-term priorities and have ranked them in order of importance. Thirdly, I have been making a conscious effort to set more realistic goals and commit to less.

I have been thinking about this a lot lately and am eager to change my desire to be perfect into a desire to be excellent. I heard a wise woman say that to change a pattern within oneself it can take from 6-9 months. So, here I am in month numero uno. As I know you are interested in my progress, I will be sure to keep you updated!

