Holy hell happy sunshine weather! It’s been consistently nice for the past 4 days over here in SF. It has been good for my marathon training. Last Friday I ran 16 miles! I can’t believe it. The runs have been beautiful and on this Friday my route takes me over the Golden Gate Bridge. Like most people, I enjoy running in the sun! However, I noticed that I become dehydrated faster and I have been having trouble trying to find out how to stay properly hydrated. I found the following information that may help you throughout your exercise regiments.

Hydration Before Exercise
Drink about 15-20 fl oz, 2-3 hours before exercise
Drink 8-10 fl oz 10-15 min before exercise

Hydration During Exercise
Drink 8-10 fl oz every 10-15 min during exercise
If exercising longer than 90 minutes, drink 8-10 fl oz of a sports drink (with no more than 8 percent carbohydrate) every 15 – 30 minutes.

Hydration After Exercise
Weigh yourself before and after exercise and replace fluid losses.
Drink 20-24 fl oz water for every 1 lb lost.
Consume a 4:1 ratio of carbohydrate to protein within the 2 hours after exercise to replenish glycogen stores.

In retrospect, I have not been doing this! I do drink a lot, but apparently not enough. I’ve also been eating chili-dogs more frequently….yummm. Speaking of chili-dogs, has anyone ever been to Showdogs? Talk about delicious dogs, and fries, and onion rings…good thing I’m running a marathon?

