Have you heard of barefoot running? Doctors, athletes, and hippies alike are coming out of the woodwork and hailing the new sheriff in town: Vibram Five Fingers as the new way to run based on the way we are supposed to run. They are sneakers that allow people to run as if they are barefoot.

I learned about these new sneakers from the book Born To Run by Christopher McDougall. The book featured no other than this guy named Barefoot Ted and the Tarahumara tribe. They all knew the secret to running. It was running the way humans are designed to run. Try running with your sneakers on. You land heel first. Now run without shoes on. You land mid foot, on the front pads of your feet. This is how humans have lived for years running, and is the reason we exist today. There is a lot of interesting science behind all of this but I’m not going to do all the work for you! (Unless you have ants in your pants and cannot wait to find out, leave a comment and I’ll be happy to share what I know.)

If you want to know how to run for miles and miles and miles without getting injured then I suggest you read Born To Run. As I train for my marathon, I’ve learned to listen to my body and have since thrown out my training schedule that was made for the masses and created a custom regiment fit for my body.

